So, What Were Your New Year Resolutions?

About four hundred years ago, when I was only twenty something, I made a resolution not to make any more New Year Resolutions, but the convention seems as popular as ever, in spite of the pitiful failure rate associated with the practice.

However, I did say that I would try to blog a little more regularly this coming year, so this is by way of attempting to keep that pledge – let’s see how long the good intention lasts (in return, please promise me that you will not hold your breath waiting for me to keep faith with this for long, as I would hate to think that I was in any part responsible for anyone’s asphyxiation).

All that said,Β  why do we make these promises to ourselves and to others at the turn of the year? I suppose the thought is, new year, new me (or new behaviour), but is the leopard really going to change its spots just because the date on calendars ends with a different number? I mean, come on! From giving up smoking, to eating more healthily, to drinking less alcohol, to taking more exercise, or being faithful to one’s partner (those last two could perhaps be considered to cancel each other out), is it really likely that we’ll succeed by adding the extra pressure of making a resolution at the stroke of midnight – particularly if we have already imbibed far too much at the time and are viewing reality through the bottom of a champagne glass?

Nevertheless, I’m sure many of you made these resolutions, so my challenge to you is to reveal them here to me. What did you promise and have you managed to keep that promise even this far?

Aww… go on, you can tell me – I won’t say a word… honest!

πŸ˜‰

6 Responses to “So, What Were Your New Year Resolutions?”

  1. My resolution isn’t very exciting but it’s meaningful to me– I’m going to try to live in the moment more– Enjoy now and stop worrying about everything else. I know, yawn πŸ™‚
    Happy New Year, jj

    • Hi jj. Thanks for sharing that… Well, maybe not obviously exciting, but a very important and worthwhile aim, I think.

      Of course, balance is the thing, but if we spend our whole lives worrying about tomorrow, we are going to forget to enjoy today, aren’t we?

      Good luck with it – and a Happy New Year to you too – adam πŸ˜‰

  2. girl du jour Says:

    No New Year’s Resolutions for me. Every day is a meaningful day and it’s really all just one big, long day anyway. πŸ™‚

    • Well… it’s a point of view. Of course, for some it’s all just one big long night, or party, or whatever takes your fancy, so why not, eh? πŸ˜†

  3. no resolutions for me and besides now this late in Jan. it’s not timely anymore unless you are Chinese and the new year is still coming up. The dates are just counting things that somebody one day decided to start counting.

    • Well, yes – dates are just that, but the way things are in most of the world at the moment I sort of feel that without a new year to look forward to there’s not much basis for hope… and without hope…

      Thanks for your input – always appreciated πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

