Phrase For Phriday

These Phrases for Phriday (I hope) provide examples of how Brits and Americans (and other English speakers around the world) are often, as the saying goes, divided by a common language.

I’m not at all sure if these are solely British words and phrases. However, some of them sound pretty British to me – like they might be instances when those Americans and others I mentioned might be tempted to think, “WTF does that mean?”. But I’m providing nothing more here than my personal interpretation of the words in question. Of course, I could be wrong – nothing new there then, either!

~

Today’s phrase is…

Actually, I’ve included two phrases both involving “a little” of something and I suspect they will be well known to Americans and others. However…
 
“A little learning is a dangerous thing” – Alexander Pope (1709). A very good and accurate observation that is fairly self explanatory, but that I guess we would all do well to remember – just because we know a bit about a subject it often tends to make us think we are some kind of expert, but it doesn’t actually mean we know what we are talking about. Still, that doesn’t need to stop most of us, does it?
😆
 
The second is one of my favourites with which I can empathise and I’m sure everyone will get this without further explanation…
 
“A little of what you fancy does you good.” Yeah, baby!

Have a good weekend…  😉

2 Responses to “Phrase For Phriday”

  1. Hi Adam, I’m just back from vacation and catching up on my reading. I’m familiar with both of the terms you mentioned but didn’t know the “a little learning is a dangerous thing” dated back tot he early 1700s. As for the second quote all I can say is– absolutely!
    Cheers, jj

Leave a Reply

