The Times They Are a-Changin’

One of the blogs I love is Sarah’s Etcetera Etc. as I think I have mentioned quite recently. Of course, as I think I probably said before, being a guy, I’m quite happy to read her words of wisdom about sex and her gender bits all day long – well, what else would you expect – but she has a lot of important things to say on all sorts of subjects and her latest post is a good one about one of the newer and somewhat different blogging platforms – Tumblr.

I have to say that I agree with almost everything she says and she’s usually right about most things. Naturally, of course, my strong sense of self preservation means that I don’t in any event have the necessary suicidal tendencies required to disagree publically with most women anyway, but I generally only say more than, “Yes dear,” when I actually mean it – like in this instance.

However, being somewhat mature, I do sometimes struggle to see the point of some of these things and, whilst I’m quite a fan of technology, I don’t automatically equate “new” with “good”.  To me, the latest fads are frequently interesting to find out about, but I still reserve judgement on the quality and value of them, particularly until I’ve tried them out for myself – which is why I had to open an account (a free one of course) and give it a go. There’s not much there at the moment, although it should automatically put a brief summary and link to this post via RSS into the body for me. You can take a look here at this early (and I think fairly crude) version of “A Bit Scandalous” on the Tumblr platform, if you really want to, that is.

I could see the attraction of Twitter for kids, teens and even twenty-somethings (and I dare say for many of the rest of you – just not for me, but I did at least register and try it. Much the same applies to Facebook and Myspace at the moment, although they at least don’t have the 140 character brevity (not my strong point as you will realise) of Twitter.

The truth is, though, with Tumblr, I just don’t get it at present. What’s the point? Yes it does a few things that WordPress won’t do (particularly the “follow” buttons of Twitter), but then so does Blogger (which I’ve also tried), but I’m still with WordPress because, in spite of its restrictions, I’ve been able to create something that is much more along the lines of what I want. Tumblr has a host of themes, but you have to buy many of them and it claims to give its users access to the whole theme if they want to alter the html, but how many of us ordinary bloggers really want to get into that?

Still, I guess we’ll see in time and, meanwhile, if anyone has some advice about the benefits or otherwise of Tumblr, please don’t be shy about letting me know what you know – this male at least is always pleased to receive any help offered – especially from women, since they have an annoying habit of seeing at once what us guys can’t figure out to save our lives…

😉

Leave a Reply

