Phrase For Phriday

These (erratically sort of regular) Phrases for Phriday are something that I started a while ago in response to a suggestion from one of my readers, the lovely PJ. They (I hope) provide examples of how Brits and Americans (and other English speakers around the world) are often, as the saying goes, divided by a common language.

I’m not at all sure if these are particularly solely British words and phrases. However, I have to start somewhere and that means making some assumptions… they sound pretty British to me, or to put it another way, these are instances when I believe those Americans and others I mentioned might be tempted to think, “WTF does that mean?”. But I’m providing nothing more here than my personal interpretation of the words in question. Of course, I could be wrong – nothing new there then, either!

~

Today’s phrase is…

All my eye and Betty Martin. I have no idea where this comes from, but it means that you are calling what has been said – utter rubbish! I believe people in the US probably know the phrase “My eye!” as meaning much the same thing. Where, who, or what Betty Martin was, or how her name came into the picture in the 1800s in the UK, I have no idea. A current and apt UK example would be, “Oh, that’s all my eye and Betty Martin. Surely you don’t believe anything that guy says. He’s a politician for heavens sake!”

Have a good weekend…  😉

4 Responses to “Phrase For Phriday”

  1. I’ve never heard this phrase before. How interesting. I would certainly be wondering what the person was saying. I’m going to start saying it. My husband will wonder where the heck that phrase came from. Good one!

  2. I have never heard them either. There you go, there is always something new to learn!

Leave a Reply

