I Haven’t Blogged A Lot Recently

Yes, I dare say there are those that are glad of that, but whether you fall into that category or not, you are bothering to read this, so I feel I should at least mention that I am aware of and freely admit the fact. I’m not quite sure where my “blogging mojo” was, but I suspect it might have been on holiday, or maybe “doing time” – I really don’t know and nor am I certain it’s back to stay since it’s a fickle thing at the best of times (rather like many of the most exciting women I’ve known). Hah! See? I can’t stay off of the subject of sex entirely, can I?

However, I’ve always taken the attitude that, if I don’t have anything I feel is interesting to say, I tend to stay schtum (which if you’re not familiar with the Brit expression means to keep silent). One of my favourite quotations is Abraham Lincoln’s classic: “It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt” although I’m sure I do that all the time – confirm people’s worst fears, I mean.

Anywaaaay… there are those blogs that have a specific cause at their heart, such as the political or religious sites that I can often find quite hard to deal with, or the community sites that are great – if you happen to live in Back-of-beyond, Arizona (or wherever), or those blogs that are solely about the birth and development of little Joe (I have nothing against little Joe, but he’s not mine and I don’t know him or anyone connected with him – so, in most circumstances, why would I give a flying f***?). Sooooo… apart from them, I suppose the reason many of us blog is in order to make some kind of personal contact with other human beings – to make friends (of a sort) in fact – and I guess I’m no different.

It’s a truth that I do regard most of the people I “meet” blogging as “friends” – good friends even – although I know almost nothing about many of them and I’m sure that all of us restrict at least a proportion of what we reveal online and categorise it as private. In fact we do that in normal life too, don’t we? It’s probably not a coincidence either that most if not all of those that I respond to online are women, but then you know me, don’t you? Or do you? I mean, I could be an axe murderer for all you know – I promise you I’m not, but that’s not the point, is it?

That’s kind of what got me into thinking (yet again) about how much we do keep back – even from those we love and with whom we live. It’s also pretty much true that each of us displays a somewhat different personality depending on the individual with whom we are interacting at any given time.

I’ve heard many people, women and men, complain that they find it difficult to know and understand their partner, or that they thought they knew him (her), when something unexpected happens, or their partner does something they regard as out of character, but I’m not at all sure that I see that as something not to be desired.

Isn’t it a fact that, when we say things like, “I want to know where I stand with my partner,” or even, “I would trust her implicitly,” what we’re really saying is that we feel able to treat our partner like a piece of furniture and what we might as well say is, “Oh, I don’t need to bother about her, I’ve got more important things to worry about!” – and isn’t it round about then that relationships first begin to wither ultimately prior to death?

Yes, of course there’s something good about knowing each other’s likes and dislikes and what is important to your partner and understanding their fears, wants, needs and ambitions. We have to trust and feel we can depend on our significant other or we have nothing. But, at the same time, without a bit of mystery, just a hint of intrigue and at least a very occasional flicker of doubt about what a reaction might be to keep us on our toes, are we not headed straight for complacency, quickly followed by boredom and who knows what else will come after that sets in?

6 Responses to “I Haven’t Blogged A Lot Recently”

  1. I think most of us have a lull in our blogging mojo more regularly than we care to admit.

    Here’s the thing I’ve discovered about my relationship after nearly 14 months of primarily living in different cities. If I didn’t truly like the guy, (and vice versa), we would have never made it this long. Now, let’s see what happens when we DO start living together again next month. 😉

    • Oh, I’m sure you’re absolutely right. You might want to be prepared for a bit of friction here and there,though, after the first few nights of bliss of course – new compromises to be “discussed” and agreed (hopefully).

      It could be a bit stressful at times, but as you say – if you really LIKE each other, you’ll get by and adjust.

      Enjoy! 😉

  2. Hey Adam, I’m back from vacation and catching up on my blog reading. I totally understand when your blog mojo goes missing. Mine’s been on the fritz for a while now. I don’t post as often as I used to– just like I don’t see some “real life” friends as often as I once did– It’s a cycle I guess.

    Hope you stick around or at least check in occasionally.
    jj

    • Yes, I agree – I think it is a cycle of some sort.

      I still read a lot (most actually) of the blogs I did before and I still look for new ones too – I guess I just do it all a little less feverishly at the moment.

      I think my worst “crime” is that I don’t comment on other’s sites as often, but that’s part of the “if you haven’t got anything to say – don’t!” frame of mind. I often read more from my internet “friends” just in my feed reader these days, but I always visit whenever I can and I always check in to your site from time to time – just like the other blogs I see as being a bit special.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  3. Oh I so know what you mean but I think its a good thing to take breaks every now and then. You always have something interesting to post about when you do post and you have a great sense of humour! Its the time thing really that I find hard. When I have lots of other things going on in my life I find it more difficult to read blogs and I do what I am doing now which is catch up on all the posts I have missed at the one time.

    I agree, I think keeping some mysetery in any relationship is a good one as long as the mystery is not that you are a secret serial killer, on the FBI most wanted list, with 10 wives on the side and a garage full of bombs.

Leave a Reply

