So What’s The Problem With Sex?

What is all this fuss we make about sex? Something that JJ said in this excellent post on her blog (The Fifty Factor) confused me a little – well, it certainly made me question some things I previously took for granted, at least.

Listing some of what she does and doesn’t blog about, Joanna said this, Generally, I will not blog about… […] Sex. In the event that it could ultimately bite me in the butt should I decide to run for an elected office, I’ll keep this topic to myself.”

Now I don’t know how serious she is about that statement because she can be a very funny lady, but I suspect there’s at least some truth in it. I was… well, I was quite shocked, particularly in view of some of the things she does blog about (often in jest). My surprise was not due to what she said, but more by the realisation that she felt she needed to think that way.

I mean, what is our modern world about? We in the West, in reality if not in name, are currently fighting at least two major wars and suffering casualties; huge earthquakes are devastating whole countries, or so it seems; terrorism is everywhere; politicians appear to be less honest by the day as they steal public money, lie through their teeth about important matters under consideration by the administration in power and much more; huge debates are taking place in the US over healthcare for millions of Americans and (to an outsider at least) the rich v the poor battle seems to get daily closer to them killing each other in the streets, whilst still others are warning of the impending doom that awaits mankind because of global warming…

All that is going on and is just a small sample of the awful state of humanity and, if JJ is right, it looks like the public and their favourite media (and the Brits are just the same) are most concerned about who is sleeping with whom and what they like to do to each other in bed.

As I said once before quite recently, certainly in any sort of critical manner, I try to stay off of the twin dodgy subjects of religion and politics, but really… perlee-ease! How will humanity ever progress if sex is the factor that is going to be the most contentious and important in the world of politics, of all places? It has nothing whatsoever to do with it!

If politicians are screwing me financially, or bureaucratically, then it matters to me! But what they do of a sexual nature to each other, or any other consenting adult, is none of my goddamned business and, frankly, I neither care nor want to know about it!

6 Responses to “So What’s The Problem With Sex?”

  1. I don’t think JJ meant anything other than generally she doesn’t blog about sex. She has so many other things she blogs about.

    She and I are of the same vintage and I know her. We leave it to others to blog about it.

    I do so appreciate your point of view Adam. I have a sneaking suspicion that you don’t want anyone telling you what to do. Am I right? 🙂

    • Oh, you’re right of course!

      But, as I think I made clear, it wasn’t really what she said (I have a huge admiration for JJ and her writing) but the fact that she felt it mattered and for the reason she gave – and there was a whole lot of agreement with her too! Some even listed so many subjects they avoid that I wondered if there was anything of significance left to write about. 🙂

      What happened to freedom of speech? If you have to be afraid of the consequences of speaking your mind in public life, then there IS no free speech and it’s no wonder politicians never achieve anything useful at all! 😦

      • True.

        Here’s a different thread of thought:
        Imagine if there was only free speech and no one listened. What good would it do?

        Aren’t there consequences/ramifications/reactions to every thing we do?

        I know I’m taking it to an extreme, but aren’t extremes what we’re talking about when we say there is no free speech?

      • Ah well, that’s a deep question. If you really want to know what I think (in relatively few words), it’s this…

        I do think free speech is important – indeed vital – but as you say, there are ramifications to everything. I think that, rather than always being careful not to hurt others’ feelings as many of us are, sometimes it’s better to say right out what you think and damn the consequences (with more courage than I sometimes exhibit). For instance, in a relationship, although consideration for your partner is important, so is honesty and that’s gonna hurt sometimes – occasionally, you have to be cruel to be kind.

        If speech is not totally free, then it’s not free at all. In a decent and caring society it’s probably not possible to have totally free speech, but a media as well as individuals who applied the right to free speech with a sense of decency and responsibility would go a long way to making life a whole lot better and freer for all of us.

        However, I suppose the truth is that what I DO think would be a whole lot better would be if the vast majority of humans could show a real “generosity of spirit” and THAT would mean that personal belief, sexual preferences, people’s private relationships and likes and dislikes and so much more would not interfere with common interest matters like politics. I won’t hold my breath waiting for that to happen…

        Talking of that, you mention “What if we had free speech and no one listened?” – you mean like politics is and mostly always has been? 😆

  2. Ha ha no I don’t write about a lot of things either. As far as some subjects go I prefer more action and less words!! I get where JJ is coming from, some things are best left private. Besides you are way better at it anyway and discuss some interesting issues. Its great to hear your perspective.

    • Actions not words – I’m with you there honey. Yes I too understand, but i think it’s a bit sad the trivia we worry about with public figures when what we SHOULD be complaining about is how bad they are at what WE pay them to do.

      Thanks for the compliment – er… I think. Yes, definitely – thanks 😆

Leave a Reply

