A Question I Feel I Just Have To Ask

This is a serious matter and I apologise right now if I’m going to offend any of the Americans who read my blog because I feel I “know” many of you (to a greater or lesser degree) and, as far as I can tell, you’re all nice, kind and decent people. Some of you are, of course, also gorgeous women (I’m sure you will know who you are) and that worries me even more, since it is not in my nature to intentionally insult any woman, particularly one who is both beautiful and adorable, however much I might disagree with her.

Nevertheless, I feel this question should be asked. Many of you got the President you desired (a heck of a lot of you voted for him) and you are mostly caring and responsible citizens. So, since Barack Obama is the USA’s knight in shining armour and unless it is just the way it appears to me (and a lot of others I’ve spoken to about it)… when do you think America might stop landing endless troops and military hardware on Haiti and do something more positive about organising and distributing the huge amount of food, water and medical supplies that are so desperately needed by the surviving population there and that is unquestionably readily available through the amazing international response that the disaster has produced?

If I’m out of order, or being overly cynical, then I will expect you to tell me, but (from what I’ve read, seen and heard on UK TV and other news sources) it does seem to me that the US perhaps sees this as a golden opportunity to finally take control of Haiti and quell its rebellious attitudes and maybe even to turn it into the fifty first state, but without any of the labour protection laws that mainlanders enjoy?

It’s just a question, but…

Addendum: Please let me make it plain here (since it may not be) I’m not criticising Americans, or even America, I’m simply questioning whether the military is so busy being military that it has lost sight of what’s paramount here and additionally I think it’s right to question the motives of some powerful factions of the US administration…

9 Responses to “A Question I Feel I Just Have To Ask”

  1. RE”when do you think America might stop landing endless troops and military hardware on Haiti and do something more positive about organising and distributing the huge amount of food, water and medical supplies that are so desperately needed by the surviving population there and that is unquestionably readily available through the amazing international response that the disaster has produced?”

    If you really understood the nature of logistics you wouldn’t even be asking that question. What organization on this planet has the kind of expertise, capable manpower, the facilities and equipment to go with it to distribute all of ” the huge amount of food, water and medical supplies that are so desperately needed by the surviving population”?

    Why, that’s right, a military. Any military. In this case the U.S. military, Israel’s and other’s.

    Did you also notice that the Baltimore based USNS Comfort arrived off the coast of Haiti to help in the Haiti Earthquake relief efforts?

    • Thank you for your reply and you may well be right, I’ve not professed to be an expert and I’m certainly not there, but then nor (presumably) are you.

      I generally try to avoid saying much about politics, however, to briefly answer the question YOU posed… Yes, of course I understand perfectly the need for military and can comprehend a lot more about the logistics than you appear to realise – THAT was my point!!! The US has HAD much of the manpower AND machinery there for about a week now and unrest amongst the survivors is reportedly growing at the apparent lack of action. Why is THAT?

      Oh and yes, of course I noticed the reports of the arrival of the warship – has it done much so far to help the vast number of people in dire peril?

      Everything you say may be true, but humanity is made up of people, not experts or politicians who all constitute a tiny minority. I’m not accusing anyone of anything, I’m asking a question and we, the people, ALL of us, have a RIGHT to ask these questions and get answers, in a democracy!

      So, please don’t adopt such a pompous and condescending tone towards a concerned world citizen who asks a valid question and has a right to do so…

      Does the American political/military machine have an ulterior motive? I don’t know, but it would be unusual (possibly a first?) if it didn’t!

  2. My posture was created by the insinuation the U.S. is there to occupy. It’s insulting to single out the U.S. military while others are there as well. But I suppose America is the country everyone loves to hate. Thankfully we have Obama apologizing to the world to make up for what Europe sees as our transgressions.

    • I don’t see what’s so insulting about that – it’s a widely held non-US opinion, following the Bush era, that this is simply what certain powerful factions in the US DO – frequently!

      It’s not particularly my view (or not), I’m simply repeating what a large number of people around the rest of the world sees as normal US behaviour. If some Americans don’t know that then maybe they perhaps need to get out more and connect with the rest of the world.

      The fact is the US has a HUGE military contingent in there that is MUCH bigger than others. I’m not bitching about that – it’s logical since you are best equipped and closest, but they don’t appear to many people outside the US to be doing a whole lot that’s useful. That may be wrong and just an impression, but it’s worrying when it is so vital and extremely URGENT to get some (any?) sort of aid into a city and surrounding areas where, bad as it is, there is at least an operational airport.

      It may be that EVERYTHING is being done that has to be done and CAN be done and there is no other option, but it does APPEAR very slow compared with other disasters that have occured and the question is, in my opinion, justified and should be asked.

      Just one small point, I’m a Brit and I don’t trust the BRITISH government, so I sure as hell don’t trust yours – nothing personal.

  3. Well, as an American who would like to see us worry about taking care of our own first and foremost, I have to say – I’m not offended and would like the same questions answered.

    • Thank you, Ree. As I said, I rarely blog about political stuff and I agree with your point of view… however, it may of course just be an impression created on TV etc., but something there has a slightly “off key” feel about it to me. Perhaps I’m being paranoid.

  4. When in England at a fairly large conference, Colin Powell was asked by the Archbishop of Canterbury if our plans for Iraq were just an example of empire building by George Bush.

    He answered by saying that, “Over the years, the United States has sent many of its fine young men and women into great peril to fight for freedom beyond our borders. The only amount of land we have ever asked for in return is enough to bury those that did not return.”

    • Yes, I agree with what you say – and the same of course applies to the modern UK.

      However, IF (and I do accept that it can sometimes be a big “if”) the UK TV news is accurate, aid distribution is STILL absolutely rubbish – dreadful!

      On top of that, I would say to you that, in my opinion, Colin Powell is a decent man, which can, I think, be quite a rarity amongst politicians and the military top brass on both sides of the atlantic.

      Of course, Archbishops of Canterbury live on an entirely different planet from the rest of us anyway, so where he got that from I have no idea.

      Thank you for commenting.

  5. Hey I was just reading your page on my Google Phone and I was wondering how well it will work on the new ipad coming out . Fleeting thought…. Anyway thanks!

Leave a Reply

