Men Don’t Understand Women

But then women don’t understand men either and I do often wonder why it is that society currently chastises men for not being more “female like”, or at least female friendly, when it does little to scold women who seem unable to think like men – and like it!

I know that most of my regular female readers are much more open-minded than that, but it’s still a general truth. Take the “dirty old man” expression as an example: if it were to be changed to “dirty old woman”, there would be all sorts of accusations of sexism, ageism and heaven knows what else, but dirty old man? Nah! Not a peep!

Whilst we’re on that subject and since I’m getting older (much too quickly for my liking – where do the years just disappear to), I think it’s a pretty unfair slur on a lot of guys. That matters more to me than it otherwise might because I’m sure it’ll be said of me at some point in the future at least.

I’ve always (as I think some of you know) adored women and, whilst I just like talking, relating and being friends with them, some of them turn me on sexually and some don’t. I can’t help what I find physically attractive, it’s simply a fact of life – part of my make up – part of me! As I’ve also admitted, gorgeous and young, or gorgeous and older is only part of the equation for me and the eyes, the expression, the demeanour and body language are all important and the sulky, petulant look does nothing whatsoever to excite me. But that’s just me, right? Right! Anyway, fit is something that simply does it for me – and that means not too thin and not too fat, although size is hardly a factor, it’s just that fit usually results in exactly that sort of shape.

The problem is, as I might have mentioned way back, I’ve always found that fit thirty to forty year old women are the most likely to be attractive to me and that has never really changed. A decade or so might have been added to that over the years, but then women seem to keep their looks to a much greater age than they once did. Like the fat/thin thing, it’s not really the age, it’s the type, the look, probably the experience of life as well as love that does it for me – as well as the shape, of course.

When I was young, I suppose it could be that I was looking for the more mature, experienced woman. When I was in my middle years, it was pretty much women of my own age group that made me whistle under my breath, but now I’m older… well, I guess I’m becoming a dirty old man.

You know the worst thing, though? It’s probably that I don’t see myself the way young women at least must see me. I frequently look in the mirror in the mornings and ask my reflection, “What’s an old git like you doing in my f*cking bathroom?”

😉

6 Responses to “Men Don’t Understand Women”

  1. Great post. I think each of us has a certain “type” that excites us that usually is defined by some physical traits. That’s fine by me because as my Mama used to say “every pot has a lid.”

    • Exactly! If we all liked the same thing, there would be very few children born and one man and one woman in the world would be absolutely bloody exhausted! 😉

  2. I agree with Peach..and I highly doubt if we met you, we would think you an “old git”. 🙂

    I love diversity and have been attracted to a variety of men in my life but the serious relationships had very striking similarities in terms of physical and personality.

    • Well thank you and flattery will get you anywhere… Oh, PLEASE!

      However, to be more serious, I agree one hundred percent with what you say. What turns us on is what turns us on and there’s little we can do about it. That, indicentally, is probably the answer to the question: “Why does she keep on picking assholes to hook up with?” It’s in the genes,honey (or the Jeans?) 😆

  3. I always thought that the guys called “dirty old men” kinda enjoyed the title 🙂

    My husband is 18 years older than I am. We’ve been married for 16 years and I can’t remember ever dating someone my age or younger before we met. I’ve always been attracted to older men. So, as they say, whatever floats your boat.

    Have a great weekend.

    • Thank you. I suppose my reaction to being called a dirty old man would be, “Hey! You can cut out the OLD!” 😆

      See? There’s a pattern for you too. Anyway, you can float my boat any time you want… 😉

      U2 – XO

Leave a Reply

