Denver Delay

This is supposedly true, although who knows? Maybe it’s just wishful thinking…

However, it apparently happened at the Denver Airport and, if real, an award should go to the United Airlines gate 14 agent for being both smart and funny and for making her point so simply and forcefully when confronted with an angry passenger who probably deserved to fly as cargo.  All of you out there who have had to deal with an irate customer, this one is for you…

A crowded United Airlines flight was cancelled. A single agent was re-booking a long line of inconvenienced travellers. Suddenly, an angry passenger pushed his way to the desk. He slapped his ticket on the counter and said, “I HAVE to be on this flight and it has to be FIRST CLASS!”

The agent replied, “I’m sorry, sir. I’ll be happy to try to help you, but I’ve got to help these folks first; and then I’m sure we’ll be able to work something out.”

The passenger was unimpressed. He asked loudly, so that the passengers behind him could hear, “DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHO I AM?”

Without hesitating, the agent smiled and grabbed her public address microphone (that’s the trick – the smooth, unflustered response without any apparent faltering). “May I have your attention, please?” she began, her voice heard clearly throughout the terminal. “We have a passenger here at Gate 14 who does not know who he is. If anyone can help him find his identity, please come to Gate 14.”

With the folks in line behind him laughing hysterically, the man glared at the United agent, gritted his teeth, and said, “F*** you!” Once again without flinching, she smiled and said, “I’m sorry sir, you’ll have to get in line for that, too.”

Now I have to admit right here, little though the chance of getting a ticket to ride might be, I’d line up for that lady – for hours! Oh, boy! Wouldn’t I just! Absolutely my kind of woman!

😆

8 Responses to “Denver Delay”

  1. I don’t know if it’s true, but I must admit to knowing women who must be, at the very least, distant relatives of hers. 🙂

    Does it ever get any better than intelligent, funny AND able to take the wind out of someone’s sails when needed?

    • In answer to your question: No, PJ… I don’t think it gets much better than that (unless she was gorgeous as well – that would be fantasy time) 😆

  2. Brilliant response. I’d stand in line for her snark too.

  3. This is where I think anyone with an accent has an advantage—if someone with an English accent were to go off, not only would the point be made, but it would sound so damn good. Granted, I am a huge sucker for an accent—someone from Ireland could tell me to f*ck off anytime and I would willingly with a smile 🙂

    • Ah, well then me darlin’ girl… Oi’ll have ta practice that one for ye, but Oi’d hate ye ta leave. Did ye see that leprechaun just now? 😉

  4. She rocks! I know what these douchenoodles are like.

Leave a Reply

