Phrase For Phriday

I know it’s Saturday, but I’ve been busy – right?

Anyway, I’m not sure, but I think this is a British expression – it certainly sounds like it. Then again maybe it’s not, but I think I’ll include it here in my Phrase for Phriday.

Although I’m not sure it’s not American too, so maybe I won’t add it here.

Then again…

Shilly-shally… be indecisive, to dither, be irresolute, vacillate, etc. – as in me, over Blogger and WordPress and so on. 

😆

5 Responses to “Phrase For Phriday”

  1. You know, I do believe that’s English…I was born in New England (fancy that!), so I’ve heard it, but not in recent decades.

    You know “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks”, don’t you?? OF COURSE YOU DO! That’s why, after shilly shallying, you’re back at WordPress. If you were my kid (back when they were kids), you’d get a ration from me for giving the change all of 24 hours.

    Does the jumping back and forth between your blogs constitute virtual aerobics? 😉

    • Yes, I’m sure you’re right. “Must try harder,” eh?

      Old dog new tricks? Of course and Brit as far as I know, but probably universal too.

      Virtual aerobics? Yes, I like that – or virtual gymnastics perhaps? 🙂

    • PS: More seriously, if Blogger had been different now that would have been something else – it just didn’t seem good enough to my way of thinking, but you have to try to find out, don’t you? 😦

  2. Shilly Shally…a new one…I know dilly dally…which is in essence the same thing. Or willy nilly (same thing) or lollygag (same thing). Shilly shally makes me sound much more cosmopolitan. 🙂

    • In English dilly dally is to dawdle, to delay, or to hang around idly taking more time over something than may be entirely necessary – as in many men tend to go into a shop and buy what they want and get the hell out of the shopping precinct as fast as possible, whilst women often want to dilly-dally and window shop for hours on end.

      willy nilly means to randomly do whatever – often ignoring the consequences or perhaps the feelings of others. For instance – when she was young and very beautiful she would strip willy nilly whenever she felt like it and for no apparent reason (I’ve been searching for this young lady for years 😆 )

      lollygag – you’ve got me there – I seem to recall hearing it once or twice, but I can’t remember what it means – possibly to dawdle or hang around, to loiter – as in the youths were lollygagging in a group in the square and it made me nervous (I think). I think it was originally nautical slang, but that may be wrong.

      Thanks… 🙂

Leave a Reply

