A Problem Solved? – Part 1

Well, not actually solved, but maybe altered, or lessened even. I guess I must be some kind of an idealist or something like that because I’m almost invariably disappointed by technology.

Take WordPress.com for instance – the hosts of this blog: WordPress is, in my opinion, a superb platform and in many ways superior to Blogger – BUT (and it’s a big but) they stubbornly refuse to allow their users to get into the mechanics of the thing. It’s true that you can do almost anything you like (supposedly) if you use it by downloading the (admittedly free) software from WordPress.org and installing it on your own host. But that’s the point, isn’t it? Your own host – which you not only have to pay for, but you also then have all the trouble of keeping up with new innovations, additions and upgrades. Sure, some hosts offer that service automatically too, but then they don’t seem to offer me what I want for my main website.

So, here I am, screwed again and disappointed as ever. Why is that? Why is it always like that? One version of a piece of technology offers great this, but if I want that I have to go to another manufacturer or supplier who offers that – sadly, though, they don’t offer this! Just why can’t I ever find it all in one place? Still, with some trepidationā€¦

here is the new (experimental) home for Scandalous

However, The Peach Tart tells us she is into a period of “self reflection” in her post Would You Like You If You Met You? My answer to that scary question would probably be a resounding, “no”, but I’m not sure that’s particularly relevant. However, it has made me question all sorts of things, which I will explain in greater detail later.

In the spirit of trying to get my readers to follow me onto the Blogspot platform, part two of this post will be on the new site, but I’ll have to see what happens, because I don’t honestly like it all that much – considering the giant that has produced it, it’s a bit “clunky” to my way of thinking, to be nice about it.

PLEASE, take a moment to go there and tell me what you think about this right now over THERE on the new site

Leave a Reply

