Thinking About Feminism

blah-blah-blahI have a problem – well, I have lots of problems, but don’t we all? What I meant to say was I have a specific problem: Strident women! I’ve met a few during my lifetime and I dare say I’ll meet more – both in real life and on the Internet.

Of course, it’s my fault, since I know perfectly well that, as one woman I knew used to say, “Women and cats will do as they please and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.” Funnily enough, though, I don’t have a problem with that at all.

However, I think the reason I find it hard to deal with pushy, self-opinionated women is because, if some of the attitudes I come up against at times were from a man, I’d simply say, “F*ck off!” or something very similar … but when it’s a woman? It somehow doesn’t seem right to me. I know, I know: I should just get over it and that’s right. Like I said, it’s my fault … but still…

Online, many feminist websites do really valuable, even vital, work rooting out unreasonable bias and supporting women who have come up against controlling assholes and often been sexually and/or otherwise abused. But all that bitching about irrelevances and seeing sexism in every word from ordinary people that sometimes comes with it … Sheesh! What a cacophony!

As I’ve said before, I do love independent women. The trouble is that I also hate pig-ignorance from anyone. From a man, I suppose the truth is I don’t really give that much of a damn if he wants to show the world just what a stupid, bigoted shit he is, but from a woman that same behaviour seems like such a shame to me. Is that sexist? I suppose it probably is, in some people’s eyes. I don’t mean it to be, but then some people see sexism in everything and don’t give damn about the huge number of other inequalities that we all suffer in all sorts of instances and situations in this sadly so unequal world of ours.

Feminists (the more rabid ones) really do suffer from such tunnel vision that, to me, they often create more sexist feeling amongst otherwise basically decent men (and women) than normal bigotry ever does – just as George W probably did more to provide Al Qaida with a steady supply of fledgling terrorists than the rest of humanity put together.

People who are so focussed, so single-minded that they are unable to even consider an alternative view and see repression in the tiniest innocent remark are not only wrong and stupid, they annoy “normal” people to the point where otherwise supporters just think “F*ck you,” even if they’re too polite to say it. That does the cause they are championing immeasurable harm and often creates the situation they were complaining about in the first place.

I’m sorry, but I can’t see what some feminists see. I’ve tried and I’m sure that such assholes as they describe exist. But, like a lot of other things in this world, many of them seem to be American and, unless US society is one of the most dreadful places on Earth, what they so often describe is surely the exception rather than the rule. It doesn’t make it right, but since most decent people will dismiss the guy as a jerk, why does it matter?

I mean, what is their problem? If, for instance, I talked about “mankind”, I wouldn’t be referring to male-kind – I’d mean humanity as a whole – male and female – it’s just an expression for God’s sake! But many such bigots (for that’s what I think these people actually are) would like to see almost all references to gender removed from our language. What’s that about? I know the origin of such expressions is probably patriarchal, but normal people don’t think of it that way and the drive to remove such words won’t make one single person think differently, except perhaps to get the idea that all women are a pain in the ass, rather than a small minority, as is plainly the case. In fact, the feminist drive to “de-genderise” our language will homogenize it and destroy much of its richness. Now I think that is a crime!

Men and women are NOT equal! They are VERY different (thank heavens). As a generality (nothing more), most women are much better at some things than most men – and vice versa! It’s not a hard and fast rule, because there are always exceptions in anything, but it is commonly so. Long may it stay that way!

Men see women as sex objects. Until we got all this patriarchal, matriarchal, pseudo religious, political correctness  crap, that’s how women saw men too! What’s wrong with any of that? It’s nature! If you actually manage to stop it, the human race is doomed. Decent guys don’t see an individual woman that way on a personal level, but that’s something different entirely.

As I’ve said already (frequently, I know), I love independent women, but no female on this planet will actually ever be free of male domination whilst she spends much of her time thinking, or even caring, about what men think of her and the rest of her gender. Women are often the ones who unintentionally create the problem by simply not standing up for their individuality (rather than their sex) in the first place. That is often the fault of education, but don’t blame half of all humanity for the short-comings of some state education, or even of quite a few parents.

What will finally truly free women is when it doesn’t normally matter to them what men think – about women in general, or anything else for that matter.

picture - iStockPhoto.com
3 Responses to “Thinking About Feminism”

  1. Many of the self-proclaimed representatives of feminism are organized into elitist, over-educated, self-obsessed cliques.

    They spend all day parsing words, arguing over irrelevancies, emasculating male contributors, and bullying everyone into line.

    I do not see any activism and only a fleeting theoretical concern for women who are truly suffering.

    What I see a political correctness contest where the women compete to become exact facsimiles of their edgy, ironic role models.

Leave a Reply

